Finding Process

I am weaving myself kitchen curtains. I am finding designing something for my own home much harder than it would be to just create something and hope it works well for someone else.

There are so many different ways to go;  so many ideas. After doing some sketching and thinking more about what I truly want for a long time frame I have my plan which I will share later.

I have greatly enjoyed the design process generously shared by Kalla; Pattern for Life on her blog http://kalladesign.com/blog/ . I love to look at her samples, color combinations and sketches.  I hope you take a moment to check her out.

The Yarn to be used for my Kitchen Curtains

The yarn is a combination of beautiful 100% linen from Habu Textiles (my absolute favorite) as well as a cotton/linen blend and some hand-dyed indigo cotton/linen.

Sketching ideas

Another variation

Just something I like from my notebook. It will one day make it's way to cloth.

Interestingly enough, the final design for my curtains is not shown here. I still need to sketch/graph it out and will have it to share soon.

B

Leave a comment

Filed under Weaving : Lab Notes

Leave a Reply

