A Bobbin a Day

My weaving goal for this year is to work on my basic weaving skills; to put in the hours in order to make the processes second nature. At this point in my life as a weaver the beginner awe has worn off to reveal just how far I need to go in even basic skills. I make way too many silly mistakes. While mistakes are part of the process and I should, if I am growing, continue to make them; I need to master the fundamentals in order to build a great foundation for future work. I want my mistakes to be learning experiences not silly oversight.

To that end, this year I intend to work hard on my essential beginning weaving skills. In order to do this I will weave daily. Initially, starting small to build the habit, I will weave a minimum of a bobbin per day.

When I weave on the loom, I use a boat shuttle to help pass the weft (threads that are woven into the warp) yarn through the warp threads (stationary threads attached to the loom) from one side of the loom to the other. The boat shuttle helps keep the weft yarn in order and at a consistent tension as opposed to working with a very long section of tangled string. I start by winding my weft yarn onto a bobbin which is then inserted into the boat shuttle to begin weaving. When the yarn on the bobbin is used up you switch the empty for a full one and proceed with weaving. On my current project I can empty a bobbin in 15 to 20 minutes.

I believe weaving at least a bobbin a day will be enough to make weaving daily a habit. I can then increase my goal as time and skill allow.

B

4 Comments

Filed under Weaving : Lab Notes

4 responses to “A Bobbin a Day

  1. 20 minutes a day is 3.5 hours of weaving a week and lots of bobbins!

  2. someday, I WILL learn to weave! much luck!

Leave a Reply

